Sporting Venues

Sporting Venues

East Melbourne has a very strong cultural connection to the early development of cricket and football and is the location of Australia’s flagship stadium, the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Melbourne Cricket Ground

The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) in Yarra Park is recognized world wide and regarded as the flagship of Australian stadiums. It is home to the Melbourne Cricket Club (founded in 1838) and was the venue of the 1956 Olympic Games and Commonwealth Games in 2006. Calendar highlights include the ‘Boxing Day’ Cricket Test Series in December and the Grand Final of the Australian Rules Football League in September. It has a spectator capacity in excess of 100,000.

Punt Road Oval (Richmond Cricket Ground)

The Punt Road Oval is located in the far south-eastern corner of Yarra Park and within close proximity to the mighty MCG. It is the home of the Richmond Football Club (the Tigers) and the Richmond Cricket Club. Visitors are welcome to tour the museum.

East Melbourne Tennis Courts

Located on the corner of Albert Street and Simpson Street, the East Melbourne Tennis courts are part of the recreational area of Powlett Reserve, bounded by Powlett Street, Grey Street, Simpson Street and Albert Street.

Rod Laver Arena

Rod Laver Arena is a tennis stadium that is part of the Melbourne Park complex and has been the main venue for the Australian Open in tennis since 1988, replacing the ageing Kooyong Stadium. Originally called National Tennis Centre at Flinders Park or Centre Court, the arena’s name officially changed in January 2000 to honour Rod Laver, a three-time winner of the Australian Open and one of world’s greatest tennis players. The arena was finished in 1988 with a seating capacity of 15,000. The venue currently attracts over 1.5 million visitors per year.

Phone: 03 9415 7570
Fax: 03 9415 7570
East Melbourne 3002
152 Powlett Street